Misc Tennis

French Open 2023: When does it start? Schedule, seedings, draw

Rafael Nadal

Rafael Nadal beat Casper Ruud 6-3 6-3 6-0 in the 2022 men’s singles final to claim a record-extending 14th French Open title

The world’s top tennis players gather in Paris later this month for the French Open.

Spain’s Rafael Nadal is the defending men’s champion and both he and Serbia’s Novak Djokovic have a chance to claim a record-extending 23rd men’s Grand Slam singles title.

But their build-ups to the event have been disrupted, which could open the door for US Open champion Carlos Alcaraz, who retained his Madrid Open title this month and is set to arrive at Roland Garros as world number one.

British women’s number one Emma Raducanu will miss the clay-court Grand Slam while she recovers from hand and ankle surgery.

Here are the key dates and details you need to know before the start of the clay-court Grand Slam at Roland Garros.

When does the French Open start?

The French Open main draw starts on Sunday, 28 May and runs until Sunday, 11 June. Qualifying for the tournament starts on Monday, 22 May.

Who are the top seeds in the singles?

The seedings will be determined by world ranking before the draw.

As things stand, Spain’s Alcaraz is set to arrive in Paris as men’s world number one, replacing Djokovic – who has been in patchy form in recent weeks – at the top when the latest rankings are published next week.

Fourteen-time champion Nadal, meanwhile, dropped out of the top 10 last month, having been struggling with a hip injury that has kept him out of action since January’s Australian Open.

Cameron Norrie is Britain’s highest ranked player at 13th, according to the most recent rankings on 8 May.

In the women’s draw, defending champion Iga Swiatek is the world number one and the Pole is poised for an intriguing battle with world number two Aryna Sabalenka as the Belarusian seeks back-to-back Grand Slam titles following her Australian Open victory.

There will be no British women among the 32 seeds.

1. Novak Djokovic (Serbia) 6. Andrey Rublev (Russia*)
2. Carlos Alcaraz (Spain) 7. Holger Rune (Denmark)
3. Daniil Medvedev (Russia*) 8. Jannik Sinner (Italy)
4. Casper Ruud (Norway) 9. Taylor Fritz (United States)
5. Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece) 10. Felix Auger-Aliassime (Canada)
1. Iga Swiatek (Poland) 6. Elena Rybakina (Kazakhstan)
2. Aryna Sabalenka (Belarus*) 7. Ons Jabeur (Tunisia)
3. Jessica Pegula (United States) 8. Maria Sakkari (Greece)
4. Caroline Garcia (France) 9. Daria Kasatkina (Russia*)
5. Coco Gauff (United States) 10. Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic)

*denotes playing…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at BBC Sport – Tennis…