Misc Tennis

Wimbledon winners: Men’s and women’s singles champions list

Wimbledon winners: Men's and women's singles champions list

Wimbledon is the third tournament on the Grand Slam tennis circuit every year, taking place after the Australian Open and French Open but before the US Open. First held in 1877, Wimbledon takes place annually at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in London, England.

Tennis greats such as Roger Federer and Martina Navratilova have won the prestigious tournament more than once. Federer leads the men’s field with eight victories, while Navratilova is at the front of the women’s field with nine titles. Which other tennis players have shined on the grass courts? Check out the all-time singles champions list below.

*Women’s tournament started in 1884.

**Men’s and women’s tournaments were cancelled from 1915-1918 and 1940-1945, because of World War I and World War II.

2023: Carlos Alcaraz; Marketa Vondrousova

2022: Novak Djokovic; Elena Rybakina

2021: Novak Djokovic; Ashleigh Barty

2019: Novak Djokovic; Simona Halep

2018: Novak Djokovic; Angelique Kerber

2017: Roger Federer; Garbine Muguruza

2016: Andy Murray; Serena Williams

2015: Novak Djokovic; Serena Williams

2014: Novak Djokovic; Petra Kvitova

2013: Andy Murray; Marion Bartoli

2012: Roger Federer; Serena Williams

2011: Novak Djokovic; Petra Kvitova

2010: Rafael Nadal; Serena Williams

2009: Roger Federer; Serena Williams

2008: Rafael Nadal; Venus Williams

2007: Roger Federer; Venus Williams

2006: Roger Federer; Amelie Mauresmo

2005: Roger Federer; Venus Williams

2004: Roger Federer; Maria Sharapova

2003: Roger Federer; Serena Williams

2002: Lleyton Hewitt; Serena Williams

2001: Goran Ivanisevic; Venus Williams

2000: Pete Sampras; Venus Williams

1999: Pete Sampras; Lindsay Davenport

1998: Pete Sampras; Jana Novotna

1997: Pete Sampras; Martina Hingis

1996: Richard Krajicek; Steffi Graf

1995: Pete Sampras; Steffi Graf

1994: Pete Sampras; Conchita Martinez

1993: Pete Sampras; Steffi Graf

1992: Andre Agassi; Steffi Graf

1991: Michael Stich; Steffi Graf

1990: Stefan Edberg; Martina Navratilova

1989: Boris Becker; Steffi Graf

1988: Stefan Edberg; Steffi Graf

1987: Pat Cash; Martina Navratilova

1986: Boris Becker; Martina Navratilova

1985: Boris Becker; Martina Navratilova

1984: John McEnroe; Martina Navratilova

1983: John McEnroe; Martina Navratilova

1982: Jimmy Connors; Martina Navratilova

1981: John McEnroe; Chris Evert

1980: Bjorn Borg; Evonne Goolagong

1979: Bjorn Borg; Martina Navratilova

1978: Bjorn Borg; Martina Navratilova

1977: Bjorn Borg; Virginia Wade

1976: Bjorn Borg; Chris Evert

1975: Arthur Ashe; Billie Jean King

1974: Jimmy…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at www.espn.com – TENNIS…