Misc Tennis

Djokovic and Swiatek Lead 2024 Indian Wells Entry List

Djokovic and Swiatek Lead 2024 Indian Wells Entry List

By Alberto Amalfi | @Tennis_Now | Wednesday, February 7, 2024

Novak Djokovic is bringing his skills back to Tennis Paradise next month. 

After a five-year hiatus, World No. 1 Djokovic will return to Indian Wells playing for an unprecedented sixth title.

More: Richard Evans Q&A

The Grand Slam king was unable to play the BNP Paribas Open in recent years due to U.S. Coronavirus policy preventing the unvaccinated Serbian superstar from entry into America.

The entry list for the 2024 BNP Paribas Open, to be held March 3-17 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, was issued today with 24-time Grand Slam champion Djokovic and fellow world No. 1 Iga Swiatek both committed to competing.

The five-time champion (2008, 2011, 2014, 2015, 2016) owns a tournament-record 20 consecutive match wins from his three-peat in 2014-2016. Djokovic’s last appearance at Indian Wells in 2019 ended with a third round loss to German veteran Philipp Kohlschreiber.

Four-time Grand Slam champion Iga Swiatek will play for her second career Indian Wells title (2022) after reaching the semifinal last year.

Reigning BNP Paribas Open champions Carlos Alcaraz (World No. 2) and Elena Rybakina (World No. 5) will return to Tennis Paradise looking to reclaim the glory of last year’s title runs and find their strides after both fell in the Australian Open earlier than expected. Alcaraz wowed crowds in the desert last year becoming the first man to win at Indian Wells without dropping a set since Roger Federer in 2017, while Rybakina’s title cemented her place among the top of the WTA as she took down No. 1 Swiatek and No. 2 Sabalenka in back-to-back matches.

Joining them in the desert will be fan favorite and three-time Indian Wells champion Rafael Nadal (2007, 2009, 2013), who will make his return to Tennis Paradise after missing the 2023 event with injury. The 22-time Grand Slam champion will look to jumpstart his season after an injury kept him out of the Australian Open earlier this year.

2024 Australian Open champions Jannik Sinner and Aryna Sabalenka will arrive in the desert in peak form hoping to continue their strong starts to the 2024 season. World No. 4 Sinner fared well last year, bowing out to eventual champion Alcaraz in the semifinal. On the WTA side, World No. 2 Sabalenka rolls into Indian Wells as arguably the player to beat fresh off her second major win and back-to-back championships at the Australian Open. Sabalenka will aim to add a first BNP Paribas Open title to her…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Blog RSS…