NCAA Womens Tennis

Individual Tournaments Next – Stanford University Athletics

Individual Tournaments Next - Stanford University Athletics

STANFORD, Calif. – Brackets have been revealed for Stanford’s four participants in the NCAA Singles and Doubles Tournaments, beginning on Monday, May 22 in Orlando, Fla.

Angelica Blake, Connie Ma and Alexandra Yepifanova will all compete in the singles draw, while Blake and Alexis Blokhina are one of 32 doubles teams.

Blake opens the singles tournament at 12:30 p.m. PST against LSU’s Anastasiya Komar, a redshirt freshman currently ranked ninth in the nation and who played on both courts one and two for the Tigers, going 19-2 in dual matches. Ma is set to battle NC State’s Diana Shnaider at 6 a.m. PST, the Wolfpack’s top player currently ranked seventh in the country. Yepifanova is matched up with Wisconsin’s Ava Markham, set to play at 7:30 a.m., a senior who played on the top court for the Badgers. Blake and Blokhina start the doubles tournament on Tuesday, May 23, facing NC State’s No. 9 Nell Miller and Amelia Rajecki, a duo defeated by Sara Choy and Yepifanova on court two in the NCAA semifinals last week.

Ma is currently ranked 18th nationally and enters the tournament after finishing as a runner-up last year, the deepest run for a Stanford freshman since 2003. She went 30-8 overall this season, including a 15-6 record in dual matches, primarily on court two. Yepifanova, the Pac-12 Player of the Year, checks in at 29th nationally with an overall singles record of 34-7, including 21-3 in dual matches, primarily on court two. Blake is enjoying the best play of her career as a senior, ranked 44th in the nation with a 33-6 overal record, 20-2 in duals and a perfect 16-0 on court three. Blake and Blokhina are ranked 16th as a doubles duo with a 19-5 overall record and 18-4 mark on court one.  

Stanford boasts 14 NCAA singles championships in program history, won by nine different players, with eight NCAA doubles championships, won by eight different pairs. Stanford last won the singles championship in 2013 (Nicole Gibbs) and doubles in 2012 (Mallory Burdette/Nicole Gibbs).

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Stanford University Athletics…