Misc Tennis

French Open winners: Men’s and women’s singles champions

French Open winners: Men's and women's singles champions

Rafael Nadal has dominated the French Open since winning his first title at Roland Garros in 2005. Of the Spaniard’s 22 career Grand Slam championships,14 have come on the French Open’s clay courts. That’s more than any other player in tennis history.

But Nadal’s grip on the crown has loosened in recent years, as Novak Djokovic has been the last man standing in Paris two of the past three years. The world’s No. 1-ranked player is looking to win his fourth career French Open title, including his second straight.

On the women’s side, Chris Evert is the queen of the clay. Her seven career French Open titles are the most by any woman.

Iga Swiatek, the world’s current No. 1 player, won the French Open in 2023. Another title at Roland Garros this summer would give the 23-year-old three straight and four for her career, drawing her closer to Evert’s mark.


2023: Novak Djokovic

2022: Rafael Nadal

2021: Novak Djokovic

2020: Rafael Nadal

2019: Rafael Nadal

2018: Rafael Nadal

2017: Rafael Nadal

2016: Novak Djokovic

2015: Stan Wawrinka

2014: Rafael Nadal

2013: Rafael Nadal

2012: Rafael Nadal

2011: Rafael Nadal

2010: Rafael Nadal

2009: Roger Federer

2008: Rafael Nadal

2007: Rafael Nadal

2006: Rafael Nadal

2005: Rafael Nadal

2004: Gaston Gaudio

2003: Juan Carlos Ferrero

2002: Albert Costa

2001: Gustavo Kuerten

2000: Gustavo Kuerten

1999: Andre Agassi

1998: Carlos Moya

1997: Gustavo Kuerten

1996: Yevgeny Kafelnikov

1995: Thomas Muster

1994: Sergi Bruguera

1993: Sergi Bruguera

1992: Jim Courier

1991: Jim Courier

1990: Andres Gomez

1989: Michael Chang

1988: Mats Wilander

1987: Ivan Lendl

1986: Ivan Lendl

1985: Mats Wilander

1984: Ivan Lendl

1983: Yannick Noah

1982: Mats Wilander

1981: Bjorn Borg

1980: Bjorn Borg

1979: Bjorn Borg

1978: Bjorn Borg

1977: Guillermo Vilas

1976: Adriano Panatta

1975: Bjorn Borg

1974: Bjorn Borg

1973: Ilie Nastase

1972: Andres Gimeno

1971: Jan Kodes

1970: Jan Kodes

1969: Rod Laver

1968: Ken Rosewall

1967: Roy Emerson

1966: Tony Roche

1965: Fred Stolle

1964: Manolo Santana

1963: Roy Emerson

1962: Rod Laver

1961: Manolo Santana

1960: Nicola Pietrangeli

1959: Nicola Pietrangeli

1958: Mervyn Rose

1957: Sven Davidson

1956: Lew Hoad

1955: Tony Trabert

1954: Tony Trabert

1953: Ken Rosewall

1952: Jaroslav Drobny

1951: Jaroslav Drobny

1950: Budge Patty

1949: Frank Parker

1948: Frank Parker

1947: Jozsef Asboth

1946: Marcel Bernard

1945: Canceled due to World War II

1944: Canceled due to World War II

1943: Canceled due to World War II

1942: Canceled due to World War II

1941: Canceled due to…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at www.espn.com – TENNIS…