NCAA Womens Tennis

Fifth-Seeded Illini Open Big Ten Tournament on Thursday Morning

Fifth-Seeded Illini Open Big Ten Tournament on Thursday Morning

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference has unveiled the complete bracket for the 2024 Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament from April 24-28 at the Varsity Tennis Center on the campus of the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Mich.

The Illini earned the fifth seed based on their head-to-head loss to Wisconsin, who will be the four seed at the tournament. The Orange and Blue will open postseason play on Thursday morning in a second round match against the winner of the first-round contest between No. 12 seed Rutgers and 13th-seeded Michigan State.

No. 35 Illinois is seeking its first Big Ten title when the team heads to Ann Arbor, Michigan. The Fighting Illini posted a 16-8 mark overall this season while owning an 8-3 record in league action to earn a third-straight top-four finish.Illinois has finished in the top four of the Big Ten standings in all seven traditional (non-COVID impacted) seasons under head coach Evan Clark.

Every match of the Big Ten Tournament can be streamed on B1G+.

2024 Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament schedule:


Wednesday, April 24 (First Round) 

Match 1 (#12 Rutgers vs. #13 Michigan State) – Noon ET  

Match 2 (#11 Nebraska vs. #14 Indiana) – Noon ET 

Thursday, April 25 (Second Round) 

Match 3 (#8 Purdue vs. #9 Minnesota) – 10 a.m. ET 

Match 4 (#5 Illinois vs. Match 1 winner) – 10 a.m. ET  

Match 5 (#7 Iowa vs. #10 Penn State) – 2 p.m. ET 

Match 6 (#6 Maryland vs. Match 2 winner) – 2 p.m. ET  

Friday, April 26 (Quarterfinals) 

Match 7 (#1 Michigan vs. Match 3 winner) – 10 a.m. ET  

Match 8 (#4 Wisconsin vs. Match 4 winner) – 10 a.m. ET  

Match 9 (#2 Ohio State vs. Match 5 winner) – 2 p.m. ET  

Match 10 (#3 Northwestern vs. Match 6 winner) – 2 p.m. ET  

Saturday, April 27 (Semifinals) 

Match 11 (Match 7 vs. Match 8 winner) – Noon ET  

Match 12 (Match 9 vs. Match 10 winner) – Noon ET  

Sunday, April 28 (Championship) 

Match 13 (Match 11 vs. Match 12 winner) – Noon ET  

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at University of Illinois Athletics…