NCAA Mens Tennis

Beaten by the Longhorns – Stanford University Athletics

Beaten by the Longhorns - Stanford University Athletics

SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. – No. 25 Stanford battled hard against No. 2 Texas, but ultimately fell to the visiting Big Horns 5-2. Stanford moves to 8-5 on the season, while Texas improves to 12-2.

Thursday’s match was originally slated to take place in the Taube Family Tennis Center, but was moved to The Bay Club in South San Francisco due to rain.

The visitors took the doubles point, claiming courts two and three both by a score of 6-3 while the top court went unfinished.

In singles, Nishesh Basavareddy tied up the match, dismantling Micah Braswell 6-0, 6-4 to put the Cardinal on the board. Texas’s Siem Woldeab regained the Longhorns advantage next, defeating Aryan Chaudhary 6-3, 6-4.

But it wasn’t long before Stanford tied the match again from another decisive two-set win, this time from Samir Banerjee over Pierre-Yves Bailly. Banerjee claimed the match 6-3, 7-5. 

Stanford wasn’t able to keep the momentum, however. Texas went on to claim the next two matches on courts six and one, as Nevin Arimilli defeated Neel Rajesh and Eliot Spizzirri took down Arthur Fery. The Longhorns claimed their fifth point of the day after Cleeve Harper defeated Filip Kolasinski on court five. 

Stanford returns to action next week for Pac-12 play against Arizona in the Taube Family Tennis Center on March 17.

No. 2 Texas 5, No. 25 Stanford 2



1) No. 23 Nishesh Basavareddy/Arthur Fery (STAN) v. No. 3 Cleeve Harper/Eliot Spizzirri (UT) 4-3 uf

2) Siem Woldeab/Pierre-Yves Bailly (UT) d. Filip Kolasinski/Samir Banerjee (STAN) 6-3

3) Chih Chi Huang/Micah Braswell (UT) d. Neel Rajesh/Aryan Chaudhary (STAN) 6-3

Order of Finish: 2,3



1) No. 1 Eliot Spizzirri (UT) d. No. 13 Arthur Fery (STAN) 6-3, 2-6, 6-2

2) No. 3 Nishesh Basavareddy (STAN) d. No. 67 Micah Braswell (UT) 6-0, 6-4

3) No. 114 Samir Banerjee (STAN) d. No. 40 Pierre-Yves Bailly (UT) 6-3, 7-5

4) No. 18 Siem Woldeab (UT) d. Aryan Chaudhary (STAN) 6-3, 6-4

5) Cleeve Harper (UT) d. Filip Kolasinski (STAN) 6-2, 2-6, 6-4

6) Nevin Arimilli (UT) d. Neel Rajesh (STAN) 6-3, 6-4

Order of Finish: 2, 4, 3, 6, 1, 5


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Stanford University Athletics…